THE SQUIRES FOUNDATION — grant history

Registered charity 328149 · filings on the Charity Commission register · its own accounts analysis · funder finder · deadlines · watch this funder · check a grantee list

Latest income
£214k
Grants listed (FY2025)
20
Listed grants total
£311k
Accounts grants total
£244k

listed grants do not fully reconcile with the accounts total — list may be partialextracted from its FY2025 accounts

What this funder supports

Based on the register classifications and operating areas of the grant recipients we could match to the charity register (a subset of all grantees).

Causes funded
Where grantees operate
  • Newcastle Upon Tyne City (6 grantees)
  • Northumberland (4 grantees)
  • South Tyneside (3 grantees)
  • Sunderland (3 grantees)
  • Gateshead (3 grantees)
  • North Tyneside (3 grantees)
  • Throughout England And Wales (3 grantees)
  • Kenya (2 grantees)
  • Durham (2 grantees)
  • Ukraine (1 grantee)

What changed: FY2024 → FY2025

Grantees that appear, disappear or move by 50%+ between the two most recent filings we have read. A grantee “dropped” may simply have received a multi-year grant earlier.

ChangeGranteeFY2024FY2025
newThe Lighthouse Project Community Foundation—£100k
newLUO CARE—£10k
newNewcastle Foodbank—£9k
newSPORT NEWCASTLE—£1k
newCancer Research—£1k
newMacMillan Cancer—£705
newSt Cuthbert’s Hospice—£280
upCRY IN THE DARK£6k£32k
upTST Tyne£5k£30k
downST OSWALD'S HOSPICE LIMITED£20k£780
not listedCommunity Foundation£67k—
not listedThe Lighthouse Project£50k—
not listedDEC Ukrainian Appeal£10k—

Grants made, per its accounts filings

Download this grant history as CSV (open data, provenance and licence noted in the file).

RecipientYearAmountPurpose
The Lighthouse Project Community FoundationFY2025£100k
Transform TradeFY2025£48k
Church and Community Partnership (Tynedale)FY2025£34k
Cry In The DarkFY2025£32k
TST TyneFY2025£30k
Charlotte StrakerFY2025£10k
Luo CareFY2025£10k
Newcastle West End Food BankFY2025£10k
Newcastle FoodbankFY2025£9k
Walker and District Food BankFY2025£5k
The Bay Food BankFY2025£5k
West Northumberland FoodbankFY2025£5k
The People’s KitchenFY2025£5k
Feeding FamiliesFY2025£3k
Countryside TrustFY2025£1k
Sport NewcastleFY2025£1k
Cancer ResearchFY2025£1k
St Oswald’s HospiceFY2025£780
MacMillan CancerFY2025£705
St Cuthbert’s HospiceFY2025£280
Community FoundationFY2024£67k
The Lighthouse ProjectFY2024£50k
Transform TradeFY2024£48k
Church and Community Partnership (Tynedale)FY2024£36k
St Oswald’s HospiceFY2024£20k
Charlotte StrakerFY2024£10k
DEC Ukrainian AppealFY2024£10k
Newcastle West End Food BankFY2024£10k
Traidcraft ExchangeFY2024£8k
Cry In The DarkFY2024£6k
Walker and District Food BankFY2024£5k
The Bay Food BankFY2024£5k
West Northumberland FoodbankFY2024£5k
The People’s KitchenFY2024£5k
TST TyneFY2024£5k
Feeding FamiliesFY2024£3k
Countryside TrustFY2024£1k
The Lighthouse ProjectFY2023£50kNote 12 clarifies this is 'The Lighthouse Project (St Michael’s Centre Partnership Byker)', but Note 7 lists it as 'The Lighthouse Project'. Rule 2 says copy names exactly as written in the grant list. Note 7 lists 'The Lighthouse Project'. However, Note 12 provides the full legal name context. Usually, the grantee name in the note is the primary source. Let's look at Note 7 again. It lists 'The Lighthouse Project'. Note 12 says 'The Lighthouse Project (St Michael’s Centre Partnership Byker)'. I will use the name from Note 7 as it is the primary list of grants, but often the full name is preferred if available. However, Rule 2 says 'Copy grantee names exactly as written'. In Note 7, it is written as 'The Lighthouse Project'. In Note 12, it is written as 'The Lighthouse Project (St Michael’s Centre Partnership Byker)'. I will stick to the Note 7 list for the primary extraction, but Note 12 is a related party transaction note. Let's look at other entries. 'Community Foundation' is listed. 'DEC Ukrainian Appeal'. 'Traidcraft Exchange'. 'Newcastle West End Food Bank'. 'Cry In The Dark'. 'The Bay Food Bank'. 'West Northumberland Foodbank'. 'Walker and District Food Bank'. 'Ian Forster - Ukrainian donation'. 'Prince’s Trust'. 'Newcastle Homeless Commission'. 'Newcastle East End Mission'. 'Church and Community Partnership (Tynedale)'. Note 12 mentions 'The Church and Community Partnership (Tynedale)' and 'The Lighthouse Project (St Michael’s Centre Partnership Byker)'. I will extract the names exactly as they appear in Note 7, which is the 'Grants Payable' note. }, {
Community FoundationFY2023£37kNote 12 does not specify a charity number for Community Foundation. It is likely the National Community Foundations or a local one. No number is printed next to it in Note 7.
Church and Community Partnership (Tynedale)FY2023£14kNote 12 states this is a charity which John Squires is also a trustee of. No charity number is printed next to it in Note 7.
DEC Ukrainian AppealFY2023£10kNote 12 does not specify a charity number.
Traidcraft ExchangeFY2023£8kNote 12 does not specify a charity number.
Cry In The DarkFY2023£5kNote 12 does not specify a charity number.
Newcastle West End Food BankFY2023£4kNote 12 does not specify a charity number.
West Northumberland FoodbankFY2023£2kNote 12 does not specify a charity number.
The Bay Food BankFY2023£2kNote 12 does not specify a charity number.
Walker and District Food BankFY2023£2kNote 12 does not specify a charity number.
Ian Forster - Ukrainian donationFY2023£750This appears to be an individual donation, not an institution/organisation. The prompt asks for 'institutions/organisations'. However, it is listed under 'Grants Payable'. Often individual grants are excluded if the rule specifies 'institutions/organisations'. But 'Ian Forster' is a person. Let's check the other entries. 'Prince’s Trust' is an org. 'Newcastle Homeless Commission' is likely an org. 'Newcastle East End Mission' is an org. 'Church and Community Partnership (Tynedale)' is an org. 'Ian Forster' is a person. I should probably exclude individuals if the rule strictly says 'institutions/organisations'. However, sometimes 'grants to individuals' are included in the list. The prompt says 'Extract the list of grants MADE BY this charity to institutions/organisations'. Ian Forster is an individual. I will exclude Ian Forster.
Newcastle East End MissionFY2023£0Amount is '–' in 2023.
Prince’s TrustFY2023£0Amount is '–' in 2023. In 2022 it was 25,000. The table shows 2023 column. The value is '–'. This means 0 or nil. I should not list grants with 0 amount if they weren't paid. The table header is '2023 £'. The value is '–'. So no grant was paid in 2023.
Newcastle Homeless CommissionFY2023£0Amount is '–' in 2023.
Prince's TrustFY2022£25k
FoundationFY2022£20k
Traidcratt ExchangeFY2022£15k
Newcastle Homeless CommissionFY2022£10k
Newcastle East End MissionFY2022£10k
Live TheatreFY2022£10k
CommunityFY2022£0

About this data

This grant list is extracted by automated reading of the grant-maker’s own accounts PDFs as filed with the Charity Commission, and cross-checked against the accounts’ stated grant totals (listed sum 310746 vs reference 244248 (27.2% diff; ref=stated)). Recipients are linked to register entries only on an exact charity-number or unambiguous exact-name match. If you represent this funder and want a correction, contact us.